WWWFC End of Season Awards Presented

Wycombe Wanderers Womens FC revealed their End of Season Award Winners on Saturday, to conclude the 2022/23 season.

All three women’s squads came together to celebrate the collective and individual successes of 2022/23. The trophies up for grabs included Golden Boot, Players Player of the Season, Recognition for continuous development, Managers Player, Goal of the Season, Unsung Hero and the inaugural Dave Roberton Award for an Outstanding Contribution to Women’s Football.

Golden Boot

First Team: Katie Riddington

Reserves: Shannon Read

U18’s: Freya Harris

Katie Riddington scored 7 goals for the Chairgirls first team, whilst Shannon Read scored an impressive 19 goals for the Reserves. Having played for both the first and U18 teams this season, Freya Harris netted 11 goals for the U18s making her their top scorer.

Players Player of the Season:

First Team: Katie Riddington

Reserves: Emily Norfolk

U18’s: Georgia Price

Often thought of as the most prestigious award of the evening, Katie Riddington, Emily Norfolk, and Georgia Price all stated their gratitude to their teammates for the recognition of their hard work.

Recognition for continuous development:

First Team: Emily Strange

Reserves: Rebecca Hesketh

U18’s: Tegan Condra

Both Emily Strange and Rebecca Hesketh joined the Chairgirls senior set up having graduated from the WWFC Foundation GDA Pathway in 21/22. They both had a fantastic season for their respective team and were recognised for their growth in both confidence and the technical aspects of their game. Tegan Condra was also identified for her development throughout the Young Chairgirls season.

Managers Player:

First Team: Kara Howes

Reserves: Emma Dean

U18’s: Jess Fuller

Goal of the Season:

Esmee Sword vs Sporting Benfica

Chairgirls forward Esmee Sword’s FA Cup strike against Sporting Benfica was crowned as this campaign’s Goal of the Season. The goal was scored at Adams Park, securing a 3-2 victory and progression into the next round.

Unsung Hero:

Ellie Trigg

Selflessly converting from midfield to goalkeeper in a time of need for the Young Chairgirls earned Ellie Trigg the Unsung Hero award. Having stepped into the role following the departure of Gemma Harvey, Ellie quickly learnt her new trade and made some impressive saves throughout the second half of the season, particularly in the JPL Cup Final vs Fulham FC. 

The Inaugural Dave Roberton Award for an Outstanding Contribution to Women’s Football:

Bobby Lynch

David Roberton was a director of Wycombe Wanderers Trust and oversaw the running of Wycombe Wanderers Women; he was a champion of women’s football and did so much to support the development of the Chairgirls, in 2021 he sadly passed away following a battle with cancer.

Having begun helping behind the scenes throughout a period of injury, Bobby Lynch became involved in many areas and has put a great deal of effort into driving the club forward.

“I am honored to be given this award; Dave paved the way for Wycombe Wanderers Women and we aim to continue that journey in his memory!” – Bobby Lynch

The Chairgirls now turn their focus to the 23/24 season, with their pre-season schedule being announced shortly.


More To Explore...